2014 Travel Grant award winners named

cc Kristen Taylor - flickr

The names of the 25 scholars to be awarded travel subsidies to attend IAMCR's 2014 conference in Hyderabad, India have been announced. The award recipients come from 16 different countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brazil, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Zambia) and will present papers in 13 different IAMCR sections and working groups.

Cash grants of up to US$1,500 are offered each year to help offset the costs of participating in IAMCR conferences. Eligibile applicants are early-stage scholars who have been members in good-standing of IAMCR for at least two years, reside in low or middle income countries and have abstracts accepted for presentation at the conference.

The travel subsidy recipients for 2014 are:

  • Abdul Halik Azeez, Sri Lanka, Islam and Media Working Group & Media, Religion and Culture Working Group
  • Albina Tortbayeva, Kazakhstan, Emerging Scholars Network
  • Basil N. Hamusokwe, South Africa, Emerging Scholars Network
  • Bernadine Jones, South Africa, Visual Culture Working Group, Political Communication Section
  • Carole Phiri-Chibbonta, Zambia, Community Communication Section
  • Chikezie Emmanuel Uzuegbunam, Nigeria, Popular Culture Working Group
  • Chun Liu, China, Law Section
  • Elastus Mambwe, Jr., Zambia, Emerging Scholars Network
  • Elira Turdubaeva, Kyrgyzstan, Political Communication Section
  • Fernanda Capibaribe, Brazil, Gender and Communication Section
  • Geisa Fernandes, Brazil, Comic Art Working Group
  • Hamid R. Akrami, Iran, Community Communication Section
  • Jacinta Mwende Maweu, Kenya, Political Economy Section
  • Luíza Alvim, Brazil, Visual Culture Working Group
  • Musara Lubombo, South Africa, Communication and HIV/AIDS & Health Communication and Change Working Groups
  • Nesrine Abdel-Sattar, Egypt, Media Production Analysis Working Group
  • Rabi C Dahal, Bhutan, Journalism Research and Education Section
  • Radhika Mittal, India, Environment, Science and Risk Communication Working Group
  • Shanshan Zhang, China, Emerging Scholars Network
  • Shudipta Sharma, Bangladesh, Political Economy Section & Community Communication Section
  • Sisanda Nkoala, South Africa, Journalism Research and Education Section
  • Sivani Pillay, South Africa, Journalism Research and Education Section
  • Viktor Chagas, Brazil, Political Economy Section
  • Wajiha Raza Rizvi, Pakistan, Gender and Communication Section
  • Wanja Njuguna, Namibia, Communication and HIV/AIDS & Health Communication and Change Working Groups

Please consider making a donation to the travel grant fund. It's a great way to encourage emerging scholars and new perspectives within IAMCR.

Donate in Euros Donate in USD